Michigan Repeals the Helmet Law
Whether you choose to protect the most vital part of your body or not should be a choice. At least, that's what a lot of people have always said about helmets and motorcyclists. But nineteen states have always disagreed by strictly enforcing some serious helmet laws requiring even the most daring of riders to don a Department of Transportation (DOT) approved helmet at all times. Still, the debate has raged on and one state, Michigan, has finally passed what the locals informally know as "Darwin's Law."
In the northern state, no longer do you need to keep your brain protected while speeding down the street at a brain splattering 65 mph. That is, of course, if you're 21-years-old or older and carrying an additional $20,000 in medical insurance while also holding a license for over two years or having completed the safety course. In other words, if you can legally drink, have a little more money to pay out of pocket for insurance and can make your way through a state sanctioned safety course, it's your party and you can die if you want to.
Still, there comes with a few loopholes. If you don't meet the requirements, the cops can't stop you just for not wearing a helmet since they no longer can really know just by looking at you whether or not you're breaking the helmet law. You also don't need to carry with you proof that you have the 20 grand in extra health insurance nor do you need to carry proof that you've been saddled up for over two years or have taken the safety class. In other words, a cop can't really prove that you're breaking the new looser helmet law unless they pull you over for breaking some other law, say speeding, and notice that you happen to be under the legal drinking age.
Ride on Michigan dare devils, ride on.