EnduroCross Championship - Round 5, Denver, CO

Saturday, October 2, 2011
Two words: Taddy Blazusiak. It seems like every race report for the 2011 EnduroCross Championship has started with them. True to this season's form, Blazusiak took first in Denver, Colorado for the fifth consecutive time. With only two races left, this season is looking to be a shut out.

Blazusiak started off the day letting the other riders know that he was still in top form by setting the fastest time during the Hot Laps. These races put the riders on the track alone to time them individually. Blazusiak's top time was followed by Aaron's and then Colton Haaker.

Blazusiak then continued to start the races strong by winning his heat race as well as did Cody Webb and Haaker in order to receive the best picks for the main race.

But Blazusiak's unrelenting success isn't failing to make the other EnduroCross racers aggressive. During the main race, both Geoff Aaron and Mike Brown made Blazusiak work for his win this round. The two instantly fought Blazusiak at the start of the race and were able to push him into third.

Still, Blazusiak was able to scream past both of them in one of the rock sections to take what seemed to be a clean lead. But Brown and Aaron stayed close on the champion's heals and were rewarded when Blazusiak went down in the Matrix.

With Brown able to stay our in front of Blazusiak for a brief amount of the race, it almost looked as though the cycle would be broken. But no one is safe out in front in EnduroCross and Brown went down letting Blazusiak take back first with Geoff in second.

Brown was only able to regain third place after the crash where Webb would challenge him for the final podium spot. But eventually Webb was forced to fall back in fourth with Kyle Redmond just behind him coming in fifth place.

Justin Soule was able to skirt up to sixth place after battling with a derailed chain during the race followed by Kevin Rookstook, Haacker, Bobby Prochnau and Kyle Calderini. Gary Sutherlin, however, suffered a serious disappointment when a mechanical issue took him all the way down from as high as fifth place to eleventh at the end of the race.

The next EnduroCross race will take place on October 22 at the Idaho Center in Boise, Idaho. With only two rounds left the question remains, can anyone catch Blazusiak? Stay tuned for the results and check out the rider's profiles.

EX Pro Race Results

Finish Rider City, state
1 Taddy Blazusiak Nwy Targ
2 Geoff Aaron Bailey, CO
3 Mike Brown Bluff City, TN
4 Cody Webb Watsonville, CA
5 Kyle Redmond Lake Hughes, CA
6 Justin Soule Reno, NV
7 Kevin Rookstool Klamfath Falls, OR
8 Colton Haaker Gilroy, CA
9 Bobby Prochnau Savona, BC
10 Kyle Calderini Black Forest, CO
DNF Gary Sutherlin Glendale, AZ
DNF Wallace Palmer Mullica Hill, NJ
DNF Rory Sullivan Oregon City, OR
DNF Eric Rhoten Montrose, CO
DNF Keith Wineland Colorado Springs, CO
DNF Matt Crouch Pittsburg, TX
DNF Ryan Sandoval Nuevo, CA
DNF Taylor Robert Scottsdale, AZ
DNF Jacob Argubright Northridge, CA
DNF Jamie Lanza Beaumont, CA

EX Pro Points Standings
Position Rider Points
1 Taddy Blazusiak 150
2 Mike Brown 102
3 Geoff Aaron 97
4 Cody Webb 91
5 Justin Soule 85
6 Colton Haaker 76
7 Gary Sutherlin 56
8 Kyle Redmond 46
9 Kevin Rookstool 45
10 Bobby Prochnau 35
11 Taylor Robert 32
12 Rory Sullivan 31
13 Destry Abbott 26
14 Ryan Sandoval 24
15 Wallace Palmer 23
16 Jacob Argubright 22
17 Keith Sweeten 20
18 Joachim Lundgren 18
19 Ryan Rodgers 18
20 Ricky Russell 17
21 Graham Jarvis 16
22 Kurt Caselli 14
23 Eric Rhoten 13
24 Rory Mead 12
25 Kendall Norman 11
26 Kyle Calderini 11
27 Ricky Dietrich 9
28 Harrison Oswald 9
29 Matt Crouch 8
30 Ivan Ramirez 8
31 Jamie Lanza 7
32 Matt Oppen 7
33 Travis Coy 3
34 Jon Seehorn 3
35 Ryan Dudek 2
36 Keith Wineland 1
37 Bryan Roper 1
38 Malcolm Hett 1

BikeBandit.com is the web's largest powersports store with more than 8 million factory fresh motorcycle parts, apparel, accessories and more online, including motorcycle helmets, motorcycle boots, motorcycle gloves and more.