zoom this imageProduct Image
Product Image
4.8 out of 5 4.8 (23 reviews)

Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire

   Free Shipping!
Avon
question mark  Ask a Question Write a Review  Write a Review
$121.95 - $250.95 $186.99 - $384.99 Save 35%!
Shipping Restriction:
This item ships via Ground Services to addresses within the 48 Contiguous US States only.
Selected Option:
Product Availability  



Quantity:

Make it a Set! Select a Tire Option: (No, thanks)
Product Availability  
Quantity:

Item(s) added to cart.
+ Add To Wishlist
Wish Lists
Please sign in here to add to your wish list.


Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire. Avon's advanced VBD (Variable Belt Density) provides improved grip and stability with large contact patch. The enhanced Aqua Flow tread give optimal water dispersal. Special snake skin sidewall treatment with Cobra logo. Tubeless.


 Write a Review

Write a Revew Today! You Could Win a $100 Gift Card

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire
 
4.8

(based on 23 reviews)

95%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good cornering (5)
  • Good ride (5)
  • Versatile (3)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Replacement (4)
    • Street riding (4)
      • Motorsports:
      • Motorcycle enthusiast (6)

    Reviewed by 23 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 5-8

    Back to top

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    3.0

    They're just okay

    By Dale

    from Fort Irwin, Ca

    See all my reviews

    Pros

    • Good Cornering
    • Good Ride

    Cons

    • Cup Badly
    • Wears Easily

    Best Uses

    • Touring

    Comments about Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire:

    GL1800 - only used for touring. Expected great mileage based on years of using Avon tyres. I get great mileage, even wear, and excellent grip from Storm 2 Ultra, Viper / VP2 Sport and Supersport. These tyres have been amazing. The Cobras made specifically for Gold Wing, have been okay. Pictures below are with 10200 miles. Both tyres are cupping and wearing uneven. I adjust my tyre pressures every day, even on trips. I ride solo. I've got a trip planned that will be about 7-8000 miles. I don't think these dudes will make it. Having said that, I'm gonna use these another 1000 mile trip and try another set for the long trip. Will post.

    • Motorsports:
    • Casual Rider, Competitive Rider, Motorcycle Enthusiast

    (0 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    Good looking tyre

    By RocDoc

    from South Carolina

    See all my reviews

    Pros

    • Haven't Mounted It Yet

    Cons

    • Time Will Tell

    Best Uses

    • Replacement
    • Street Riding
    • Upgrade

    Comments about Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire:

    good price - fast shipping - good looking tyre - will find out the rest after it's put on my bike.

    • Motorsports:
    • Motorcycle Enthusiast

    (4 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    great tire

    By me

    from williamsport ,ohio

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Good Cornering
    • Good Ride
    • Versatile

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Replacement
      • Street Riding
      • Upgrade

      Comments about Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire:

      this is my 2nd avon cobra tire , the first lasted for 13000 miles , granted it was well worn when I replaced it, but its great for any road conditions , have 23,000 miles on my 09 fatboy and will probably keep running these tires unless they come up with something better. [...]

      • Motorsports:
      • Motorcycle Enthusiast

      (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      avons are my #1 pick

      By igor

      from Undisclosed

      Comments about Avon AV72 Cobra Motorcycle Tire:

      The avons are the right tire for my valkyrie. Put over 22.000 miles on the last back tire and hope to get that much out of this one, just keep checking your tire pressure. Great cornering traction.

      Service and delivery comments:

      Product was delivered quickly and at a great value.

      Displaying reviews 5-8

      Back to top

      Do you have questions about this product?

      get answers from real customers and in-house experts with AnswerBox.

      13 Questions | 14 Answers
      Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »
      • Q:

        what will fit my 2001 1800 goldwing?
        Asked on 1/18/2013 by Dutch from Portland

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! 180/60-16 is correct for your machine. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

          Answered on 1/21/2013 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        does this fit a 2010 triumph thunderbird? book calls for 200/50/17
        Asked on 8/10/2012 by rich from canton,ohio

        1 answer

      • Q:

        Is this the recommended tire for my 2002 VTX 1800 C?
        Asked on 7/27/2012 by The Enforcer from Boca Raton, FL.

        2 answers

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! We show your machine comes with a 170-70-16 size tire stock. the tire you are veiwing is not offered in that sizing but many customers upgrade to a different size for riding comfort or performance. If you need help locating a tire for your machine please contact our knowledgable sales team 7 days a week at 888-339-3888. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

          Answered on 7/27/2012 by Anonymous
        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for the question. This tire in a size 180/70-16 will work on your bike.

          Answered on 7/27/2012 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        I have a 210/50-17 tire (Metzler 880 Marathon) on a 17x5.5 rim. Will the Avon AV72 200/55-17 tire fit this rim?
        Asked on 7/9/2012 by Bill

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thank you for your Question! This would be a matter best handled by calling in 1-888-339-3888.

          Answered on 7/9/2012 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        have an xr650, can i run tubes with these?
        Asked on 7/4/2012 by wick from medfor or

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! This tire will not work for your machine.

          Answered on 7/6/2012 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        what size 280 tire do i need to order to fit the stock m109 rear rim?
        Asked on 3/6/2012 by Anonymous from Raleigh,NC

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! The original rim size is an 18", so the only option would be for a 250/40-18. You would need to measure if you have the clearance to go any larger.

          Answered on 3/8/2012 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        size for 2001 1800 gold wing
        Asked on 2/24/2012 by Dutch from Portland Oregon

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! you will need size 180-70-16.

          Answered on 2/26/2012 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        Will the Avon AV72 / 200 55 18 fit on my 06 Harley Nightrod that came with a stock 180 55 18 on a 5.5"rim?
        Asked on 10/23/2011 by Anonymous

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! You will have to measure to see if you have the extra 20mm clearance on your rim.

          Answered on 10/24/2011 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        Would the Avon Corp.advise use of this particular product front and rear on a 2007 Honda Goldwing 1800?
        Asked on 8/8/2011 by Jitterbug from Lake Worth, Fl.

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your qestion! We would recommend the stock tire size this machine came with. It takes a 130x70x18 for the front and a 180x60x16 for the rear.

          Answered on 8/9/2011 by Anonymous
      • Q:

        what is the difference between the avon venom 300/35/18 or the avon cobra 300/35/18
        Asked on 11/17/2010 by mike from pa

        1 answer

        • Staff Reviewer

          A:

          Thanks for your question! The venom is not offered in this size. For assistance in ordering tires, please contact a sales rep at 888-339-3888.

          Answered on 11/18/2010 by Anonymous
      Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »

      Do you have a question about this product? 

      View Inspecting and Maintaining your Street Motorcycle Tires
      Tires have a lot of little quirks. Here's a guide to help you know the facts and tips of inspecting and maintaining those treads!
      View How To: Change your motorcycle tires
      Buying tires for motorcycles from BikeBandit.com is easy and inexpensive, but what do you do when they get to your front door? Here's a guide to help you change your own motorcycle tires.
      View How to Choose Motorcycle Tires
      Buying tires online can save you a ton of cash, but you need to know what to look for to make sure you're ordering the right stuff. Let us help you with our handy guide!
      View The Off-road Motorcycle Tire Buyer's Guide
      With so many different types of off-road riding, tire buying can be a bit confusing. Let this off-road tire guide help you find the right set of treads!

      Specifications and Options

      Brand Avon
      Front / Rear Rear
      Tire Size 140/90-16, 150/80-16, 150/90-15, 170/70-16, 180/55-18, 180/60-16, 180/65-16, 180/70-16, 190/60-17, 200/55-17, 200/55-18, 200/60-16, 240/40-18, 240/50-16, 250/40-18, 300/35-18, MT90-16
      Rim Size 18, 17, 16, 15
      Tube / Tubeless Tubeless
      Bias / Radial Bias, Bias Belted, Radial
      Load Index 74, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 84, 87
      Speed Rating H, V, W
      Sidewall Wide White Wall
      CLOSE