zoom this imageProduct Image
Product ImageProduct ImageProduct ImageProduct ImageVideo Icon
4.6 out of 5 4.6 (309 reviews)

Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire

Video Available   VIDEO AVAILABLE (1)
   Orders over $99 Ship FREE! Free Shipping!
Dunlop
question mark  Ask a Question Write a Review  Write a Review
$74.95 - $151.97 $116.95 - $238.95 Save up to 37%!
Shipping Restriction:
This item ships via Ground Services to addresses within the 48 Contiguous US States only.
Selected Option:
Product Availability  
Quantity:

Make it a Set! Select a Tire Option: (No, thanks)
Product Availability  
Quantity:

Item(s) added to cart.
+ Add To Wishlist
Wish Lists
Please sign in here to add to your wish list.


The Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire tread compound delivers excellent balance of mileage and grip. Dunlop's front and rear tread pattern delivers outstanding water evacuation and wet grip. The tire's bias-ply construction was designed to deliver excellent load-carrying capacity as well as a smooth ride for maximum comfort. The offset center groove delivers excellent straight-line stability.



Click here to view Dunlop Rebate
.

 Write a Review

Write a Revew Today! You Could Win a $100 Gift Card

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire
 
4.6

(based on 309 reviews)

95%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good ride (96)
  • Good cornering (84)
  • Durable (74)
  • Easy to install (39)
  • Versatile (36)

Cons

  • Wears easily (14)
  • Difficult to install (4)

Best Uses

  • Street riding (97)
  • Replacement (46)
  • Upgrade (17)
    • Motorsports:
    • Motorcycle enthusiast (76), Casual rider (65), Mechanic (30)

Reviewed by 309 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 9-12

Back to top

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Great Tire!

By Jay

from Charleston,SC

See all my reviews

Pros

  • Durable
  • Good Ride

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Street Riding

    Comments about Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire:

    Love this tire...daily commute 160 miles per day so naturally go through a lot of tires! I've been averaging over 15,000 miles on every one of these without any problems

    • Motorsports:
    • Daily commuter

    (1 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

     
    1.0

    wears easy

    By Krazykarl

    from Springfield, MO

    Pros

      Cons

      • Wears Easily

      Best Uses

        Comments about Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire:

        Put on in early May is all but bald in mid August. Very easy riding, no burn outs, 32 psi, no more than 3000 miles if that. Do not recommend!!!

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Decent Overall

        By NMFORDMAN

        from Albuquerque, NM

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Durable
        • Good Ride
        • Great when new

        Cons

        • Not so great at the end
        • Unstable

        Best Uses

        • Street Riding

        Comments about Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire:

        The D404 came as original equipment on my Vulcan VN900. These tires are great bad new and with almost 13000 on them and just now hitting the wear markers, have performed well.
        I have of the upsides to these are excellent traction even in extremely wet conditions, for a cruiser tire they hold well in corners and they do not follow the rain grooves in the pavement like others would.
        Downsides;
        As the tires rack up mileage they begin to lose balance, at about 6500K when you lightly held the grips the front end would have a noticable shake, traction on corners becomes an issue even in moderate cases and at about 11500 the shake becomes noticable with just one hand off and a tight grip on the throttle.
        All these issues combined made me order the Pirelli MT66 and try those out.
        Final thoughts are the D404 is a good tire that may require additional balancing as it ages and a less aggressive riding style but with proper care and caution they are an excellent choice.

        Let everyone know how the Pirellis do after I rack a few miles on them.

        • Motorsports:
        • Motorcycle Enthusiast

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        1.0

        Don't last as expected

        By Mike

        from Redding Ca

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Good Cornering
        • Good Ride

        Cons

        • Wears Easily

        Best Uses

          Comments about Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire:

          I have to start off by saying that I'm pretty anul when it comes to proper air pressure on my bike and truck, The 404 started off as a decent tire as far as ride comfort and handling, but as I got close to 3500 miles on this tire I noticed wear, now I'm at 6200 miles and the rear is completely wore out and the front is almost wore out, I ride an 09 Vulcan 900 custom, the rear is a 180/70-15 and the front is a 80/90-21, very dissapointed with tis tire, mainly because of the low milage, but also because I do not ride aggresive or have a full dress bike, and I only weigh 175, the bike only weighs 600 lbs so I don't know why they wore out so quickly but will definately replace them with anything other than Dunlops.

          • Motorsports:
          • Casual Rider, Motorcycle Enthusiast

          Displaying reviews 9-12

          Back to top

          Do you have questions about this product?

          get answers from real customers and in-house experts with AnswerBox.

          77 Questions | 82 Answers
          Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »
          • Q:

            will it work on 1988 HARLEY FLHTC
            Asked on 1/6/2013 by Anonymous

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thanks for your question! We normally reccomend the Dunlop D402 for your machine. As long as the size and weight and speed ratings are in spec you may run this tire as well. Please feel free to give us a call if you have any questions 1-888-339-3888.

              Answered on 1/9/2013 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            iam running 402 mu80hb16 front can i get a d404 140 90 16 b on the rear stock 97 fatboy instead of the 130 to small
            Asked on 1/5/2013 by Anonymous

            2 answers

            • A:

              I have ran my shop for 6 years now and tires and oil change and HD intervals services are our specialties and the 140 will most likely rub your belt.

              Answered on 2/20/2013 by Mur from Tucson Arizona
            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thank you for your question. You may need to measure the clearences to determine fitment of the 140/90-16. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone toll free at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 1/7/2013 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            do i need to by tubes for this tire?
            Asked on 1/3/2013 by Anonymous

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thanks for the question. All but one size are "Tubless" tires. Depending on your application you may need to buy tubes. You can run tubes in a tubeless tire. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 1/4/2013 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            I have a 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR XVS1100A with spoke wheels and tubes. The manual specifies a 170/80-15M/C 77S Dunlop D404G tire for the Rear. But I see only tubeless tires of this size on your site. will it work on my bike. Pl recommend.
            Asked on 12/29/2012 by Anonymous

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thanks for the question. You can use a tubless tire with a tube and it will work on your V-Star. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 12/31/2012 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            I need a rear tire for a 06 ultra....narrow white wall. dunlop harley tire. which one do I need?
            Asked on 12/24/2012 by Anonymous

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thanks for the question. We recommend the following tire....
              http://www.bikebandit.com/dunlop-d402-harley-davidson-motorcycle-tire
              Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 12/27/2012 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            Would this tire fit a 2007 Suzuki S40?
            Asked on 12/8/2012 by Theiomegaman

            1 answer

          • Q:

            Dear sir.
            Is the 140/90/16 compatible with the 1981 XS1100SH?
            Asked on 11/21/2012 by cleansoul

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thank you for your question. You may need to measure the clearences to determine fitment of the 140/90-16. My research material shows the Yamaha XS1100S is equipped with a 130/90-16 from the Yamaha Factory. This tire is available in a 130/90-16.

              http://www.bikebandit.com/dunlop-d404-motorcycle-tire

              Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone toll free at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 11/21/2012 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            Hey was wondering if this tire will hold my bike and two riders. I have a Honda shadow spirit 750 2006. The weight will be around 900 lbs including the bike and two riders. Thanks
            Asked on 11/13/2012 by Jay

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thank you for your question. Yes this Dunlop D404 does have the load index for your needs. Together the load index is about 1,500 lbs. The front tire is 62H = 584 pounds The rear 77H = 908 pounds =1,492 lbs combined. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone toll free at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 11/13/2012 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            What does the "max load" mean on this tire. I have the 100/90-19 front tire. Does that mean the total weight of the bike, accessories and riders on the bike that can be allowed? Thanks
            Asked on 11/8/2012 by Jay

            1 answer

            • CUSTOMER CARE

              A:

              Thank you for your question. Yes each tire has a max load rating. The 100/90-19 has a rating of 57H which means the tire has a max load of 507 pounds and a max speed of 130 mph. For safe operation.
              Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you by contacting us by email at Sales@bikebandit.com, Live Chat or by phone toll free at 888-339-3888. We are more than happy to help.

              Answered on 11/9/2012 by Anonymous
          • Q:

            I have a 2005 honda shadow spirit VT750DC and my current tire is a tubeless 100/90-19 and was wondering if this tire would fit on my bike. If not what tire would you suggest. Thanks
            Asked on 11/5/2012 by Jason from virginia beach, va

            1 answer

          Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »

          Do you have a question about this product? 

          Play Video Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire at BikeBandit.com
          Dunlop D404 Motorcycle Tire at BikeBandit.com Oct. 2014
          View Dunlop 2011 Fitment Guide
          Dunlops recommended tire model and size for most machines.
          View Inspecting and Maintaining your Street Motorcycle Tires
          Tires have a lot of little quirks. Here's a guide to help you know the facts and tips of inspecting and maintaining those treads!
          View How To: Change your motorcycle tires
          Buying tires for motorcycles from BikeBandit.com is easy and inexpensive, but what do you do when they get to your front door? Here's a guide to help you change your own motorcycle tires.
          View How to Choose Motorcycle Tires
          Buying tires online can save you a ton of cash, but you need to know what to look for to make sure you're ordering the right stuff. Let us help you with our handy guide!
          View The Off-road Motorcycle Tire Buyer's Guide
          With so many different types of off-road riding, tire buying can be a bit confusing. Let this off-road tire guide help you find the right set of treads!

          Specifications and Options

          Brand Dunlop
          Front / Rear Front, Rear
          Tire Size 80/90-21, 100/90-18, 100/90-19, 110/90-18, 110/90-19, 120/90-17, 120/90-18, 130/70-18, 130/90-15, 130/90-16, 130/90-17, 140/80-17, 140/90-15, 140/90-16, 150/80-16, 150/90-15, 170/80-15
          Rim Size 21, 19, 18, 17, 16, 15
          Tube / Tubeless Tube Type, Tubeless
          Bias / Radial Bias Ply
          Load Index 48, 56, 57, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 74, 77
          Speed Rating H, S
          Sidewall Wide White Wall
          CLOSE